October 8th 2009
862 (3 books)
Box Set B-Paperbacks
978 1 9069940 1

The Stories of E. A. Markham by E. A. Markham

Buy Now Price £20.00

An unclassifiable marvel

Financial Times

E. A. Markham was born on the Caribbean island of Montserrat and lived in London, the south of France, Sheffield and in his last years, Paris. A Professor of Creative Writing and much-praised poet, whose The Rough Climate was shortlisted for the T. S. Eliot Prize, his short story collections with Tindal Street Press received the warmest critical praise from his literary peers. The Three Suitors of Fred Belair, sad to say, is his final collection of stories, as Archie died in Paris in March 2008.

Markham devoted the last years of his life to fiction—with astounding results. Three playful collections of stories set on the volcanic island of St Caesare met with universal praise: Meet Me In Mozambique (2005), At Home with Miss Vanesa (2006), and The Three Suitors of Fred Belair (2009). These are the stories of the returnees – Winifred Belair, Miss Vanesa – who gossip over drinks on the verandahs of the volcanic Caribbean island of St Caesare. Most vocal is the travelling professor and writer Pewter Stapleton, whose homes have been in the south of France, London, Sheffield and Paris. His cosmopolitan travels and friendships are complex and entertaining – taking in cricket, literature and international politics – and visiting many cities from Dublin to Washington, a tale in each one, and travelling in imagination as far as Mozambique.

Inimitable, unclassifiable and wise – Markham’s vibrant trilogy of short story collections are brought together for the first time in an exquisite limited-edition box set.

The English speaking Caribbean has bred some wonderful wanderers from his generation, but none can boast a literary voice as wryly companionable as this

Boyd Tonkin, Independent

An infectiously garrulous, digressive and witty narrator—he and his loose-linked cycle of stories are damn good company

Jim Crace

Add Your Comment